College Dropout Rates

After one semester in Mindanao State University (Marawi) in the Philippines, I needed to stop for two years due to financial constraints. My parents who had unstable income as farmers could hardly meet the demands of my monthly allowance intended for my food, house rentals, and other school related money matters. I was just one of the many Filipinos who are forced to drop their quest for a university degree due to poverty.

All I thought that this problem is only confined to the third world countries like mine but just look what I found. It turned out that even in the United States the number one reason for most college drop-outs is also due to financial pressure.

 

The good thing was that even after two years of school rest, my burning desire to earn a degree never died down and it kept burning even I met the same financial challenge when I continued school at the Philippine Normal University – Agusan Campus.  It was never an easy road I went through but I’m glad I walked on and on because at the end of my rocky trip was a smooth and comfortable ride going further through the journey of life.

About enzo

A teacher by profession who makes reading as his past time. He has been addicted to facebooking until he decided to make worthy of his time by writing blogs.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

