Luke and His Songs

ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) spirit is all over Thailand right now. It seems everybody here is on the go to embrace the ASEAN Community by 2015. Almost all school programs are attuned with it take for instance our school’s academic day on Thursday will be all about the ten member states of ASEAN namely; Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.

It is for this reason that I am much into my being a Filipino citizen these days because I have been working on my display board for few days now. As I was browsing You Tube for interesting videos about the Philippines, I caught a sight of this video of a little American boy singing a Filipino folk song and later I found out that he sings (amazingly) not just one but three – Bahay Kubo, Sampung Mga Daliri and Sitsiritsit. I suddenly felt a renewed sense of pride of my very own language – Filipino. Not that I am not proud of it before, it is just heartwarming to hear other races using your mother tongue and even sweeter when you hear it from a little child like Luke.

How my heart melted especially with his version of “Sampung Mga Daliri” because he sounds so cute and  so good. Boy! this little angel can REALLY sing. Check this out!

You can sing along with him with these lyrics:

SAMPUNG MGA DALIRI

Sampung mga daliri

Kamay at paa

Dalawang tenga

Dalawang mata

Ilong na maganda”

SITSIRITSIT

Sitsiritsit, alibangbang

Salaguinto at salagubang

Ang babae sa lansangan

Kung gumiri’y parang tandang.

Now, I exactly know what to teach tomorrow to my Second Year students. Thanks to Luke for this excellent idea.

About enzo

A teacher by profession who makes reading as his past time. He has been addicted to facebooking until he decided to make worthy of his time by writing blogs.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Luke and His Songs

  1. cute – precious – sweet …
    very nice,
    isadora

  2. A lot of people in our country should see this video Enzo! I got a kick hearing such a sweet Filipino song from a child that’s not even Filipino! How many of the kids today even know these songs?

    Thanks for posting…! This is great…:o)

  3. it’s amaing what you can find on youtube! how cute he is!
    Enzo, I saw you’d been to my photo challenge post so came by to read through your blog. i like it! I especially got a kick out of your explanation re: why you need a weekend to clean your room! LOL you must be related to my mother!! she’s always telling me to take a room a day and “really pull it apart” (ya ok ma, not likely to happen! 😉 )
    anyway, great blog! I know i will check back!!

Leave a Reply

