Basic Guidelines in Choosing Curtain Color

I was overwhelmed with the response when I posted last week which color should I pick when I will buy a new curtain. Those suggestions really guided me in identifying the best choice for my room.

The common color of my room is blue. When I moved in October of 2010, the landlord had already provided me with blue curtains and blue sofa so I had no other choice but to follow the color theme. I bought a blue bed sheet and other stuffs in blue. Lately, I just got tired of seeing the same color in my room so I had to think of something new to break the monotony. From last week’s post, I received really good feed backs that guided me of my choice. Here’s the top ten suggestions that I gathered in choosing a color for your curtains:

1. Peach or floral curtains for a garden look.

2. Black curtains for low maintenance that is not having to wash it all the time.

3. Purple, to go with the color of the season.

4. Choose your favorite color for your curtains.

5. The color of your curtains should compliment the color of your wall paper.

6. Green and blue for a fresh look of your room.

7. Consider the color of your bedsheet when you pick a color of your curtains.

8. Black and white curtains for a darker effect.

9. White with shades of green and purple if you are into neat, dust-free and fresher effect of the room.

10. White for a sleek and clean effect of the room.

Christia of Cristia’s World wrote: “White and satin brown always works. Combine them this way: satin brown curtain, white see through curtain, white see through curtain, satin brown curtain.”

With that in mind, I went to Home Pro to get what I wanted. When I went there I had a wide array of choices. But of course, I had to consider my budget. It was such a good thing that I found what I really wanted – a brown curtain with some light blue stripes at the bottom. I thought it was perfect.

On my way out of the shop, I passed by the home and office furniture department and my eyes caught a sight of this very nice corner cabinet. Then I imagined my photo frames in it at the corner of my little room. Now, I am up for my next room project – the corner cabinet.

How about you? Any plans or project for your room lately?

About enzo

A teacher by profession who makes reading as his past time. He has been addicted to facebooking until he decided to make worthy of his time by writing blogs.
This entry was posted in Home Matters, Upclose and Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Basic Guidelines in Choosing Curtain Color

  1. Rhea says:

    Pink or purple isn’t my favorite colors but it seem to refresh my eyes when I see a pink colored curtain provided the matching sheets etc. Great post Enzo. Nice and neat room by the way

  2. Ohhh. I remembered your previous post about choosing curtains for your bedroom. I’m glad that you share this new blog to us. BTW your room looks neat and tidy. You’ll fall-in love with your new room or sure.

    • enzo says:

      Hey Jenny, I just feel that I need to share this because of the many positive response I got, in fact, these guidelines I am blogging bout here isn’t mine but from all the bloggers who responded to my request. You are one of them. Thank you very much.

  3. Andrea says:

    after giving birth to my little boy i’ve had our room painted light green with orange accents.. i wanted to keep it my room but with a touch of something fun for a little boy to be in. hehe.. nice corner cabinet by the way.. ^_^

  4. iamsuperleah says:

    This is your room? Nice.. Looks cozy.. and clean, too. 😀

    My room at my childhood home is cool.. ‘coz the walls are painted apple green. Hehe. I go for white white lacy curtains, and the bedsheets are pastel yellow. Yung dream bedroom ko naman, it should be of purple and yellow combination. All pastels, of course. Nag share? hehe..

  5. this is what i hate to do, choosing the color of curtains or put a curtain in my house, but i’ll try your tips you give me some push to do it… thanks

    • enzo says:

      Yeah…choosing colors could sometimes be tasky especially if you’re not into it…but ask some friends about it. Anyways…thanks for dropping.

  6. Karen says:

    Curtain colors must always jive with the color of the room. It reflects harmony and space.

  7. Kathy Ngo says:

    Nice! It really pops out ha. Love the color you chose.

  8. Gigi says:

    simplistic and very manly room, nice! no plans, hubby ko isip lahat hehhehe – Gemma|My Dailies

    P.S. wla option to log using google account so wordpress account ko to 🙂

  9. Bien Nonoy says:

    I never knew that choosing window curtains can be this tedious as well. Nice information here. very helpful.

  10. yuuki says:

    new look on your room will create positive vibes…

    i think i need to buy new curtains din (inggit) but i’ll go for pinkish/purplish…

  11. NeSSie ♥ says:

    Wow! I love putting curtains in my home. And I make sure it matches/or at least compatible color with my bed sheets. haha! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Hazel says:

    It’s one of those things I don’t normally fancy with furnished rooms. We don’t have a choice on colors or designs. The garden look seems charming to me; especially if I lived on a farm which I always dream about.

  13. tumandok says:

    Color harmony is the issue of choosing which color of the curtain is best for your room. This guide is very informative. It gives the appropriate or proper direction on what color to select.

    Thank you for this blog, RandomThoughts!

  14. ralph says:

    color and arrangement may affect your mood but what really matters first is its cleanliness… lol. nice tips. Yahweh bless.

  15. chrisair says:

    wow ang ganda ng napili mong color tama pala yung suggestion, I might try this also

  16. Kai Sensei says:

    hmmm looks nice! I kinda like the color scheme..

  17. I would go for PURPLE. It’s my favorite color. And I find that color very pleasing and refreshing, but with elegance.

Leave a Reply

