My Christmas Sentiments

One of the hardest part of living abroad is the fact that special days will never be like in the Philippines especially Christmas. Filipinos are known to have the longest Christmas celebration in the world and we have the merriest. That’s something that I am missing. The carolers even as early as the month of September can become annoying at times but they are exactly what I missed much.

This is my third year of celebrating Christmas away from home and still I am far from getting used to it. I guess I will never be and as much as I want to go home for Christmas, I just can’t so like in the past, Christmas eve and Christmas day is just an ordinary day for me. My first Christmas here was the worst. I spent it all alone in my apartment listening to Christmas songs which really didn’t help at all. Instead, the songs even made me lonelier thinking of home and how the celebration went on. A hundred baht of calling card is not really enough and I wished there was reloadable card available by then so I could extend the conversation with my family for even just a little while more.

This is my third Christmas far from my family and I’m still feeling the sadness just as when I celebrated it here for the first time.

About enzo

A teacher by profession who makes reading as his past time. He has been addicted to facebooking until he decided to make worthy of his time by writing blogs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

